Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases & eBooks: Getting Started

Getting Started

Merritt College Library offers a wide range of electronic resources to support the college curriculum and to provide reliable information sources for class assignments and research:

  • 70+ databases with millions of journal, magazine, newspaper, and reference articles
  • 78,000 electronic books (ebooks)
  • 95,000 streaming films and videos

To begin exploring these resources, click on the A-Z Databases tab above to browse a full listing of all available databases or use the search box below to find a specific database.

Search for Databases, eBook Collections, and Video Collections

 

Online Resources Requiring a Personal Account

While all library databases and online resources are free to Merritt students and employees, a few require the creation of a personal account.

Chronicle of Higher Education logoThe Chronicle of Higher Education

If you're on campus, simply go to Chronicle.com for complete access. If you're off campus, go to Chronicle.com Sign Up and create an account using your Peralta email address, then follow the steps on the account setup pages.

 

Kanopy logoKanopy

For both on-campus and off-campus access, a personal Kanopy account is required. Go to Create Your Account and click on the orange LOG IN TO MERRITT button. Select Merritt Student or Merritt Employee to log in through the Peralta Portal, then create your account.

 

NYTimes logoNew York Times

For both on-campus and off-campus access, a personal NYTimes.com account is required. Go to NYTimes.com Academic Pass and create an account using your Peralta email address. Remember to check your email inbox for a confirmation message with a link to validate your account. See these detailed instructions for more information.

Major Databases

Need Help?