The following tutorial uses an EBSCO database as its example. Gale and ProQuest databases will look different, but will have the same tools and features as an EBSCO database. Take your time getting familiar with a database's layout as each one will be slightly different. If you get stuck, reach out to a Merritt College librarian for help.
STEP ONE
Go to the library's website: https://www.merritt.edu/library/
STEP TWO
Click on the Databases & eBooks link on the library's website
STEP THREE
Click on the A-Z Database link.
STEP FOUR
Select a database from the list.
STEP FIVE
Enter your search terms or phrase in the search box.
STEP SIX
On the results page of your search, you can refine your results on the left-hand side of the page. This is where you can limit or expand your search results. Scroll down to see all the ways in which you can refine your results.
STEP SEVEN
Once you find an article of interest, click on the link for the article to read or view the full text.
Scroll down to the bottom of the page to get to the next page with more results.
STEP EIGHT
Once you have found an article of interest, there are many tools available to print, download, or export the article's citation information. Look on the right-hand side for these tools.
The downward arrow icon will allow you to download the article.
The printer icon will allow you to print the article.
If you need to export the article's citation, select the paper with a pen icon. This will open the Export Manager tool.
If you need a permanent link to an article, select the chain link icon.
The Export Manager tool allows you to export the article's citation information in the format you require.
**PRO TIP: double check the database generated citation - citation exporters in databases regularly make mistakes.
When you click on the chain link icon for the permanent link, it appears above the article's title.
**PRO TIP: a permanent link will never expire versus the URL at the top of an article's page.
