The Merritt College Library subscribes to a variety of scholarly databases. You will be exploring these databases to find 10 scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles. For help accessing the databases while off-campus, please refer to the Off-Campus Access Guide.
Each journal article is required to have the following major sections:
All articles must have been published within the last ten years (from 2013 onwards). Download PDFs for each of your articles and upload them to Canvas email, sending to your professor for approval. Meta-Analysis (a study that combines the results of many other studies) and Systematic Review (a review of existing studies and literature) articles will not be approved. You should seek out studies with original research described in the article.
TIP: Use filters in your database searches to make sure the date range is correct. Most database and catalog searches also have a checkbox that, when selected, limits the search to Peer-Reviewed articles.
Google Scholar is a search engine which provides a simple way to broadly search for research literature. Using the search feature, you are able to discover a wide variety of online scholarly literature, including: journal articles, theses, preprints, technical reports, conference proceedings and books. Google Scholar explores the bibliographic information of sources as well as the text to provide you with optimized search results. It is important to note that Google Scholar's coverage is is wide-ranging but not comprehensive. It can be a research source, but should not be the only source you use.
WARNING: You may not have free access to all of the articles you find in Google Scholar. For free scholarly articles we recommend use of the Merritt College library databases.
If you are having trouble finding sources in the databases, please contact your Merritt Reference Librarians.
You might also find these guides helpful: