LibGuides: ENGL 5 Argumentative Research Paper: Finding Information

Sources of Information

The three sources of information you will use are:

online databases
other online resources
books (print & ebooks)

Online Databases

The library subscribes to a number of online databases that you can use to research your topic. Databases contain scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources of information. As databases are always being updated they are good for finding current articles about your topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a research starting point that brings together over 700 full-text reference ebooks from over 100 publishers, covering a range of subject areas.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own ebook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas. Research Library provides access to a wide range of the core academic titles, from business and the sciences to literature and politics. The database expands daily and currently includes more than 6,000 titles, 75% of which are available in full text.

Other Online Resources

These websites may be helpful to you during your research:

Centers for Disease Control

US Congress

National Institutes of Health

US Supreme Court

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF)

Council on Foreign Relations

Google Scholar

Books

PRINT BOOKS

Merritt College Library's Hot Topics Collection (located in the library directly behind the reference desk) is a good place to continue your search. These books cover a wide range of controversial issues. Each book provides background information on the topic and includes essays for and against the issue.

These titles are library-use.

Visit the library and ask a librarian if you need help.

In addition to the Hot Topics Collection the library may have other books on your topic that will be helpful in your research. Use the search box on the right side of this page to search the catalog.

EBOOKS

The library has access to over 74,000 ebook titles. Use the search box on the right side of this page to search the collection.

To find books on your research topic, use the OneSearch search box below to look for title in the library catalog. You can search by keyword or by title.