Skip to main content

Psychology: Psychology Databases at the Merritt College Library

Guide to the library databases that will assist Psychology students at Merritt College with their research project

Library Information Resources for the Study of Psychology

Students studying psychology at Merritt College have access to a wide range of psychology literature. Popular magazines such as "Psychology Today" which is intentionally simplified, is available through the Gale Academic OneFile database.  At the other end of the spectrum, students can search professional level peer reviewed journal articles from two databases covering psychology which are designed for college students: Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection, and the Psychology Collection. Reference databases such as CREDO support students through hundreds of specialized encyclopedias. Lastly, complex psychological theories are explained or demonstrated in numerous streaming videos from Films on Demand.

logo image of the Credo database of reference contentUse the Credo Reference Database to Define New Words and Concepts

One of your first steps in your research project is to define any terms or concepts with which you are not completely familiar. Credo Reference is an electronic collection of hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias and dictionaries. Use it to define and understand any terms and concepts with which you are not familiar. Here's an example of one of 1130 entries from general and specialized encyclopedias for the term Altrusim. Click to read a definition for the personality disorder Narcissism. Use Credo to find authoritative information on your topic.

Using the "Psychology Collection" Database from GALE

According the GALE, the producers of the Psychology Collection, this database of containg more than 6 million articles will,

"Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

Here's a sampling of some of the journal titles  covered in the the Psychology Collection:

Psychology, Society, & Education, Behavioral Psychology/Psicologia Conductual, Current Psychology, School Psychology Review, Contemporary School Psychology, Frontiers in Psychology, Journal of Psychology and Christianity, Journal of Psychology and Theology, Law and Psychology Review, Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin, Advances in Cognitive Psychology, American Journal of Psychology, Annual Review of Psychology, British Journal of Psychology, Journal of European Psychology Students, Journal of Evolutionary Psychology, The Journal of Humanistic Psychology, Journal of Instructional Psychology, Journal of Managerial Psychology, Journal of Medical Psychology.