American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/
Consists of collections of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history. Topics include: African American Civil War, Conservation Movement, Continental Congress, Farm Security Administration, Architectural History, Early Motion Pictures, Variety Stage, Woman Suffrage, the papers of George Washington and Abraham Lincoln, Today in History, Portraits of the Presidents and First Ladies, 1789-Present, and more. 

American Memory Timeline  http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/features/timeline/
Primary sources for seven time periods of United States history are provided at this site covering 1783-1968. Each period is subdivided into various topics and contains an overview. Included are images, letters, lyrics, interviews, and more.

The American Presidency Project http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu 
This project contains a searchable database of tens of thousands of documents from U.S. presidents from 1789 to the present. It covers inaugural addresses, press briefings, signing statements, and debates. Also features data on topics such as popularity and number of public appearances, election results back to 1828, and an archive of audio and video clips.

American Treasures of the Library of Congress  http://lcweb.loc.gov/exhibits/treasures/
An unprecedented permanent exhibition of the rarest, most interesting or significant items relating to America's past.

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
The project contains digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from pre-18th Century to current.

A Chronology of US Historical Documents  http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/
US historical documents arranged from pre-colonial era to present. 

Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/
Provides learning and teaching resources from online textbook, primary sources, ethnic voices to special topics and reference materials on all periods of United States History.

Documenting the American South http://docsouth.unc.edu/
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

Harvard Open Collections http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/
The Open Collections provide online access to historical resources from Harvard's renowned libraries, archives, and museums. OCP's highly specialized open collections are developed through careful collaborations among Harvard's distinguished faculty, librarians, and curators. Three open collections have been launched since 2004: Women Working, 1800-1930, Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, and Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics. Two additional collections are under development now: the Islamic Heritage Project, and Organizing Our World: Sponsored Exploration and Scientific Discovery in the Modern Age.

History Matters http://historymatters.gmu.edu/browse/wwwhistory/
A highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for students and teachers of American history.

Making of America http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts. 

Nineteenth Century Documents Project http://history.furman.edu/benson/alpha/www/docs/index.htm
When completed this collection will include accurate transcriptions of many important and representative primary texts from nineteenth century American history, with special emphasis on those sources that shed light on sectional conflict and transformations in regional identity. 

Project Gutenberg https://www.gutenberg.org/
The Project contains free eBooks or etexts. There are more than 10.000 eBooks in the present collection. Most of these eBooks are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded and read, and redistributed for non-commercial use. 

GENERAL PRIMARY SOURCES - WORLD

Eurodocs http://www.lib.byu.edu/~rdh/eurodocs/homepage.html
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles, translations from Western Europe.

EyeWitness to History http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/
History Through the Eyes of Those who Lived it. Eyewitness accounts organized by date starting with Ancient Greece.

Slave Voyages (The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database) http://www.slavevoyages.org/
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 35,000 slaving vogages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

United Nations Treaty Collection https://treaties.un.org/
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946.

World History Sources http://chnm.gmu.edu/whm/searchwhm.php
Reflects three approaches central to current world history scholarship: an emphasis on comparative issues rather than civilizations in isolation; a focus on contacts among different societies and the economic, social, and cultural consequences of those contacts; and an attentiveness to global forces that transcend individual societies or even societies in mutual contact forces such as technology diffusion, migration, disease transmission, extension and realignments of trade routes, or missionary outreach.

LEGAL DOCUMENTS

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/continental/
The Continental Congress Broadside Collection (253 titles) and the Constitutional Convention Broadside Collection (21 titles) contain 274 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Most broadsides are one page in length; others range from 1 to 28 pages. A number of these items contain manuscript annotations not recorded elsewhere that offer insight into the delicate process of creating consensus. In many cases, multiple copies bearing manuscript annotations are available to compare and contrast.

Landmark Supreme Court Cases http://www.landmarkcases.org/ 
It covers landmark Supreme Court cases including a full range of resources and activities to support the teaching and learning of landmark Supreme Court cases.
 

ORAL HISTORY AND SPEECHES

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speechbank.htm
THE ONLINE SPEECH BANK is an index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and more.

Historical Voices http://www.historicalvoices.org/ 
A fully searchable database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century.

History Channel: Speeches http://www.history.com/speeches
A collection of speeches is drawn from the most famous broadcasts and recordings of the twentieth century.

Oral History Online! - http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bancroft-library/oral-history-center
Searchable transcriptions from the Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Some of the topics and interviewees include: Suffragists (Alice Paul), Disabled Persons Independence Movement (Hale Zukas); Health Care, Science, and Technology (Barbara Honeyman Heath Roll); University History Series (Arleigh Williams); University of California Black Alumni Series (Lionel Wilson); and the Earl Warren Oral History Project (Edmund G. Brown, Sr.).

Talking History http://www.talkinghistory.org
A collection of audio documentaries, speeches, debates, oral histories, conference sessions, commentaries, archival audio sources, and other aural history resources as is available anywhere.