Skip to main content

Paralegal Studies: Home

Resources for students taking Paralegal Studies courses at Merritt College

General Information

Welcome to the research guide for students taking courses in Paralegal Studies at Merritt College.  Please explore the resources below, and don't forget that librarians are here to help you with your research and information needs.

Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, news articles, streaming videos, and reference sources. Most of these databases will require that you log in with your last name and student ID number when accessing them from off campus.

 

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni is a research tool that is efficient and easy to use, and includes more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources.

**Nexis Uni no longer requires a personal account for off campus use.  Students can now log in using their Last Name and Student ID Number.

 

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice 

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.

 

ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences

ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals on communications, criminology, education, linguistics, political science, psychology, and sociology.

E-Books

Off-campus access to Merritt College Library ebooks is available through remote authentication with your student/employee ID number.

EBSCO eBook Collection 

The EBSCO eBook Collection offers a comprehensive selection of over 74,000 e-book titles in all core subject areas including social sciences, humanities, science, technology, medicine, the arts; thousands of front list and bestselling trade titles; ready reference materials including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and handbooks; resources for students, teachers and faculty; and much more.

Gale eBooks 

Gale eBooks (formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an electronic collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Librarian

Contact Us