Skip to main content

Art @ Merritt: Home

Resources for Art Department classes at Merritt College

General Information

Welcome to the research guide for students taking Art courses at Merritt College.  Please explore the resources below, and don't forget that librarians are here to help you with your research and information needs.

Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, news articles, streaming videos, and reference sources. Most of these databases will require that you log in with your last name and student ID number when accessing them from off campus.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts 

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

If needed you can broaden your results by searching the entire Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window  collection.

ProQuest Research Library: The Arts 

ProQuest Research Library: The Arts provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals on architecture, art, dance, design, film, music, theatre, and TV.

Broaden your results by searching the entire ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window  collection.


E-Books

Off-campus access to Merritt College Library ebooks is available through remote authentication with your student/employee ID number.

EBSCO eBook Collection 

The EBSCO eBook Collection offers a comprehensive selection of over 74,000 e-book titles in all core subject areas including social sciences, humanities, science, technology, medicine, the arts; thousands of front list and bestselling trade titles; ready reference materials including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and handbooks; resources for students, teachers and faculty; and much more.

Gale eBooks 

Gale eBooks (formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an electronic collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Contact Us

Virtual Museum Tours

Oakland Museum of California

Oakland Museum of California

Virtual Tour – OMCA brings together its multi-disciplinary collections of art, history, and natural science with first-person accounts and often untold narratives of California. A leading cultural institution of the Bay Area and a resource for the research and understanding of California’s dynamic cultural and environmental heritage for visitors from the region, the state, and around the world.

You can look at their collectionsee their exhibits, and take a virtual tour through Google Arts & Culture

El Museo Mexicano / The Mexican Museum

El Museo Mexicano / The Mexican Museum

The soul and spirit of the arts and cultures of Mexico and the Americas are fundamentally and inextricably linked.  The museum has a spectacular collection that is unique in the nation, including Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, Popular, Modern and Contemporary Mexican and Latino, and Chicano Art.

Explore the museum with Google Arts & Culture

Contemporary Jewish Museum

Contemporary Jewish Museum

Virtual Tour – Explore page for deep cuts about art, Jewish history, pop culture, and more. According to their Facebook Page they will be rolling out new content series in the next few weeks. Stay tuned for more educational resources, DIY/crafting projects, archived gallery chats, and more.

Librarian