Skip to main content

Biology: Home

Resources for students taking Biology courses at Merritt College

General Information

Welcome to the research guide for students taking courses in Biology at Merritt College.  Please explore the resources below, and don't forget that librarians are here to help you with your research and information needs.

Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, news articles, streaming videos, and reference sources. Most of these databases will require that you log in with your last name and student ID number when accessing them from off campus.

Gale OneFile: Science

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Broaden your results by searching the entire Gale Academic OneFile collection to include topics like health, medicine, and psychology.

ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology

ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals on agriculture, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, environmental science, and materials science.

Broaden your results by searching the entire ProQuest Research Library to include a search that includes social sciences and health as well.  

E-Books

Off-campus access to Merritt College Library ebooks is available through remote authentication with your student/employee ID number.

EBSCO eBook Collection 

The EBSCO eBook Collection offers a comprehensive selection of over 74,000 e-book titles in all core subject areas including social sciences, humanities, science, technology, medicine, the arts; thousands of front list and bestselling trade titles; ready reference materials including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and handbooks; resources for students, teachers and faculty; and much more.

Gale eBooks 

Gale eBooks (formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an electronic collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Librarian

Contact Us